Another Chapter Icon for Clifton

03Here is another chapter start icon that I created in pen and ink for Jaimie Engle’s upcoming book, Clifton Chase and the Arrow of Light.

It has been such a fun experience to read the chapters and work with Jaimie to come up with the perfect start (in art form) to each chapter.

To build these drawings I created a couple of images to develop the style I would use, then I made a small cardboard template for the oval. I traced it 55 times in my sketchbook, then lightly sketched in pencil the ideas for each chapter. After approval from the author, I then inked the drawings. The entire process took about a month. I hope that the drawings reflect the story well. I surely have enjoyed it!

Stay tuned for more chapter illustrations to come. I love to hear from you, so feel free to leave feedback and comments!

Leave a Reply

