Preliminary Studies

ChrtrStudyDane2As I have worked on the illustrations for Jaimie Engle’s new book, Clifton Chase and the Arrow of Light, I created several sketches and color studies before I worked on the final cover.

I thought you might like to see two of my preliminary studies. The first is Dane, one of the great characters in the story. He is very tough, and I wanted to show his strength.

The second is a quick study of armor and weapons so that I could see what pigments I might use to make the metal look believable.StudyArmor

I hope you enjoy these. I have had so much fun working on the project. Currently I am working on pen and ink illustrations for the start of each chapter in the book. I hope to show some of the inside illustrations when they are approved.

To learn more about the author and this upcoming novel for young readers please visit her website.

One thought on “Preliminary Studies

Leave a Reply

